Supervisory Board

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board oversees both policy of the Management Board and general developments at FMO and the business connected with it.

The Supervisory Board currently consists of five members with very specific expertise in FMO’s focus areas.They are appointed by the General Meeting of Shareholders upon nomination of the Supervisory Board. The Works’ Council recommends the nomination of one third of the members.

Supervisory Board Members

Pier Vellinga (1950), Chairman

Pier Vellinga is a member of FMO’s Supervisory Board since 2008. He is professor at Wageningen University and the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam on Climate Change with focus on the societal Implications regarding water, energy and food. He was one of the founders and first bureau members of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. In his early career he studied in the USA and worked in Africa. In the 1990’s he was chairman of the Scientific and Technical Advisory Panel (STAP) of the Global Environment Facility (GEF) hosted by World Bank, UNEP and UNDP. He is now director Climate and Water at the Waddenacademy, exploring options for the enhancement of the ecological and economic quality of the Unesco World Hertitage The Waddensea. He is Chairman of the Board of URGENDA, the Netherlands platform for the promotion of sustainability in business practices. He is member of the board of the Climate Adaptation Services Foundation (CAS). In 2015/2016 he co-authored the EU report: Green Growth for Jobs and Prosperity.

Thessa Menssen (1967)

Thessa Menssen was appointed as a member of FMO's Supervisory Board in 2016. Since 2012 she is a Member of the Executive Board of Royal BAM Group in the Netherlands. She also serves as a Supervisory Board Member and Chairwoman of the Audit Committee at PostNL.

Before joining Royal BAM Group, she held senior positions at Unilever and The Port of Rotterdam. From 2010 till 2015, she served as a Supervisory Board member at Vitens, the largest drinking water company in the Netherlands.

Alexandra Schaapveld (1958)

Alexandra Schaapveld joined FMO’s Supervisory Board in 2012. She holds several other positions: she is Non-Executive Director at Société Générale S.A. in France, Non-Executive Director of Bumi Armada Berhad in Malaysia and member of the Supervisory Board of Vallourec S.A., France.

Alexandra had a long career at ABN AMRO Bank, which she joined in 1984. She was involved in Corporate Banking and subsequently in Investment Banking: Equity Capital Markets and Mergers and Acquisitions. In 2001, she was appointed Senior Executive Vice President responsible for Sector Expertise and in 2005 she became Head of the Business Unit Global Clients and Investment Banking. After the acquisition of ABN AMRO by a consortium of banks, she became head of Europe for Royal Bank of Scotland.

Koos Timmermans (1960)

Koos Timmermans has extensive banking experience in various senior leadership roles. He is currently Chief Financial Officer of ING Group and Vice-Chairman of the Management Board.
Koos has been with ING since 1996 and amongst other positions was Chief Risk Officer.  At ING, he is also responsible for the areas of sustainability, international relations and regulatory affairs.

He is a Member of the Management Board of the Dutch Banking Association (NVB) and member of the Advisory Board of Euronext.

Dirk Jan van den Berg (1953)

Dirk Jan van den Berg joined the Supervisory Board in 2016. Mr Van den Berg is currently Chair of the Executive Board of Sanquin Blood Supply, a foundation that runs the national blood bank system, operates a fully commercial pharmaceutical plant and conducts major research programs on blood related topics.   He is also Vice-Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Gasunie, member of the Governing Board of the European Institute for Innovation and Technology, and a member of many (international) academic and international policy advisory boards.

Dirk Jan Van den Berg was the President of Delft University of Technology (2008-2015), which he joined after many years at the Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs. He served as the Dutch Ambassador to China and Mongolia (2005-2008), as The Netherlands Permanent Representative to the United Nations (2001-2005) in New York and has been the Secretary-General of the ministry for an extended period of time (1992-2001). Between 1980 and 1992 he held several positions at the Ministry of Economic Affairs, lastly as Deputy Director General for Industry.


The Supervisory Board has two dedicated committees:

  1. The Audit and Risk Committee – Supervises and advises on FMO’s financial position. It monitors and offers expertise on issues such as our risk management policy, internal and external auditing systems and compliance with legislation and external and internal regulations. One of its key tasks is to monitor the performance of external auditors.
  2. The Selection, Appointment and Remuneration Committee –  Proposals on the appointment and re-appointment of Supervisory and Management Board members is one of this Committee’s main tasks. Others include monitoring the remuneration policy, preparing proposed adjustments and giving advice on the remuneration of individual Management Board members.